Our Team

Team picture at HPVC East 2013.

Team picture at HPVC East 2013.

The team was started in the fall of 2004 by Jessica Sanfilippo and Dusty Brunner through the UW-Madison ASME Student Chapter. The team of about a dozen dedicated members competed in its first competition in the spring of 2005 in Alabama. The team has competeted in places such as North Carolina in 2006 and Florida in 2007. The team competed as a utility vehicle it’s first 6 years. In 2007 the team entered two bikes, one footpowered and one purely handpowered bike. In 2008 the team redesigned the handpowered bike for the competition which was hosted by UW-Madison. For the 2009 competition the team returned to a footpowered bike and placed 2nd in design and 2nd overall. At the 2010 competition, the team again entered a footpowered bike with improved system designs. The team placed 2nd in design and 2nd overall and finished in the top 5 of all races. This past year, in 2013, we entered the unrestricted class and took eleventh with our first-ever 2-wheeled, fully-faired vehicle.

Executive Board

President: Alex Ebertowski
aebertowski@wisc.edu
VP / Chief Engineer: Drew Motl
dmotl@wisc.edu
Treasurer: Kevin Ripley
kripley@wisc.edu
Industrial Relations: Liam West
uwmadison.hpvc@gmail.com
Public Relations: Paige Kiecker and Julie Werner
kiecker@wisc.edu and jkwerner2@wisc.edu
Secretary: Oscar Juarez
oj726@hotmail.com

Team Leaders:

Fairing: Alex Ebertowski
aebertowski@wisc.edu
Frame: Zack Peppin
peppin@wisc.edu
Drive Train: Kevin Ripley
kripley@wisc.edu
Landing Gear: Drew Motl
dmotl@wisc.edu
Innovation: Gustave Granroth
granroth@wisc.edu
Seat: Liam West
lwest2@wisc.edu

Advisors:

Frank Pfefferkorn
pfefferk@engr.wisc.edu
Heidi Ploeg
ploeg@engr.wisc.edu