Our Team

 

2015 Competition Team Photo

The team was started in the fall of 2004 by Jessica Sanfilippo and Dusty Brunner through the UW-Madison ASME Student Chapter. The team of about a dozen dedicated members competed in its first competition in the spring of 2005 in Alabama. The team has competeted in places such as North Carolina in 2006 and Florida in 2007. The team competed as a utility vehicle it’s first 6 years. In 2007 the team entered two bikes, one footpowered and one purely handpowered bike. In 2008 the team redesigned the handpowered bike for the competition which was hosted by UW-Madison. For the 2009 competition the team returned to a footpowered bike and placed 2nd in design and 2nd overall. At the 2010 competition, the team again entered a footpowered bike with improved system designs. The team placed 2nd in design and 2nd overall and finished in the top 5 of all races. In 2013, we entered the unrestricted class and took eleventh with our first-ever 2-wheeled, fully-faired vehicle. For the 2014 competition in Orlando, Florida, we entered a a recumbent bike with a full carbon fiber fairing that featured a built in roll bar. This past year, during the 2015 competition we entered our first ever tilting delta trike which featured a perfected carbon fiber fairing. Unfortunately, due to a mechanical failure during the drag race we were unable to finish the competition.

Executive Board

 

President: Karl Niendorf
kniendorf@wisc.edu
Chief Engineer & Vice President: Lucas Benish & Zach Peppin
peppin@wisc.edu lgbenish@wisc.edu
Treasurer: Vincent Schad
vschad@wisc.edu
Industry Relations: Victor Markus
uwmadison.hpvc@gmail.com
Secretary: David Gaulke
dgaulke@wisc.edu

Team Leaders:

 

Fairing: Lucas Benish
lgbenish@wisc.edu
Frame: Kevin Rogers
kerogers4@wisc.edu
Drive Train: Vincent Schad
vschad@wisc.edu
Innovation: Victor Markus & Austin Cruz
vmarkus@wisc.edu acruz3@wisc.edu

Advisors:

Frank Pfefferkorn
pfefferk@engr.wisc.edu
Heidi Ploeg
ploeg@engr.wisc.edu