Our Team


2015 Competition Team Photo

Our team was started in the fall of 2004 by Jessica Sanfilippo and Dusty Brunner through the UW-Madison ASME Student Chapter. The team of nearly a dozen dedicated members competed in its first competition in the spring of 2005 in Alabama. The team has competed in places such as North Carolina in 2006 and Florida in 2007. The team competed as a utility vehicle it’s first 6 years. In 2007 the team entered two bikes, one footpowered and one purely handpowered bike. In 2008 the team redesigned the handpowered bike for the competition which was hosted by UW-Madison. For the 2009 competition the team returned to a footpowered bike and placed 2nd in design and 2nd overall. At the 2010 competition, the team again entered a footpowered bike with improved system designs. The team placed 2nd in design and 2nd overall and finished in the top 5 of all races. In 2013, we entered the unrestricted class and took eleventh with our first-ever 2-wheeled, fully-faired vehicle. For the 2014 competition in Orlando, Florida, we entered a a recumbent bike with a full carbon fiber fairing that featured a built in roll bar. This past year, during the 2015 competition we entered our first ever tilting delta trike which featured a perfected carbon fiber fairing. Unfortunately, due to a mechanical failure during the drag race we were unable to finish the competition.

Current Team

Executive Board

President: Karl Niendorf
Chief Engineer & Vice President: Lucas Benish
Treasurer: Vincent Schad
Industry Relations: Walter DeKock
Secretary: David Gaulke

Team Leaders:

Fairing: Lucas Benish
Frame: Kevin Rogers
Drive Train: Vincent Schad
Innovation: Victor Markus & Austin Cruz
vmarkus@wisc.edu acruz3@wisc.edu


Frank Pfefferkorn
Heidi Ploeg